Hair life in phases: anagen, catagen, telogen

Hair life in phases: anagen, catagen, telogen

The hair life cycle can be divided into 3 phases: anagen, catagen and telogen. Let's see together the characteristics of the individual phases

The life of the hair is called the follicular cycle, and for convenience it is divided into the phases of anagen, catagen and telogen. These three phases have very different durations from each other; in the same way, the growth of the hair has irregular and staggered rhythms depending on the phase in which the single hair is found. It is very important to study the development of the various phases to establish the condition of the scalp, as phenomena such as physical and psychological imbalances of various types, stress or some pathological conditions, can affect the life cycle of the hair.

First of all, we distinguish the different parts of a hair: we will need it to understand more about the follicular cycle.
The deepest part of the hair is called the bulb: it is here that the precious hair cells are contained, responsible for the germination and proliferation of the hair itself. The root, not visible, is located inside the skin and the follicle.
Instead, outside the follicle there is the visible part of the hair, called stem or stem. Furthermore, on the side of the follicle is the sebaceous gland, which, as the name suggests, secretes sebum, a fundamental substance to protect the hair from daily external aggressions.

The hair growth, or rather the follicles, is divided into the three phases mentioned above. In the growth phase, called anagen, the hair grows daily by 0.3-0.4 millimeters per day; this phase lasts on average from 2 to 7 years but depends from person to person, depending on various factors, including DNA and any existing diseases, and in women it is longer than in men.
The next phase, of involution or catagen, lasts about 2-3 weeks and sees the growth stop of the follicle, as the hair ends its proliferative activity and stops elongating.
The final phase, called telogen, is a real resting phase: the hair that is inside the follicle is completely inactivated, and is attacked only by weak intracellular ligaments that will fail with the birth of the new hair. This phase lasts about 3 months, after which the follicle resumes the anagen phase; a delay in the growth of the new hair can lead to diseases such as alopecia

Images: Depositphotos

Category: Beauty
Previous Post
Temptation Island Vip, Ventura puts Like a critical post. Then think again
Next Post
Fricker Diet, you lose over a pound a week and tone you up
You must be logged in to post a comment.